Turn On The Shuffle, It’s Friday

7 01 2011

So this is a new feature I’m going to try out.  Every Friday I’ll simply hit the shuffle button on my iTunes and post the first 5 songs that play up here with a little commentary on each song.  Just something extra for the waning hours before the weekend.

New Found Glory – “Singled Out” from the album Sticks And Stones
This is actually one of my favorite songs off of my favorite NFG album.  I really like the electronic intro and find the hook to be above-average for the always catchy New Found.  This was also an early example of Chad screaming in a NFG song, which appealed to me when it came out, and still does.

The Loved Ones – “Distracted” from the EP Distractions
I love the Loved Ones and this is an excellent little EP.  As for the song itself, it’s pretty solid and would be the highlight of the release if it weren’t for the Strummer cover that was thrown in there.  But “Distracted” is a pretty average Loved Ones song, which also means it’s very good.  I’m not sure how popular the EP is so head out and pick it up if you don’t already own it.

Agnostic Front – “Traitor” from the Fat Wreck compilation Short Music for Short People
The Short Music comp is, for those who don’t know, a little compilation thrown together by Fat Mike where each song is supposed to be 30 seconds long, or less. Some are a bit longer, some shorter.  As such, it’s a nice novelty but you can’t get into any of the songs too much.  This Agnostic Front song is a good one, but again, at 31 seconds long, there’s not much there.

No Roses – “Snapshots” from the State of Mind Recordings Hectic Thinking Sampler
One of the things about this feature is that there will be bands coming up who I have no information about, and have never heard before.  This is one of them.  It’s a pretty good melodic-hardcore song, but I don’t even know where I got this sampler from. Punknews, maybe?

Backstreet Boys – “I Want It That Way”
I was considering skipping this for the next song (which was a Gaslight track, by the way) but part of this is to show an honest picture of the mess that is my iTunes, so here it is.  Don’t know when I downloaded it, but it is one of (*cringe*) three BSB songs I have.  Why, I’m not sure, but I have a soft spot for 90’s and early 00’s pop so this will happen.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

